Find your perfect pet with Pet Alert!

Forrest Large Male Terrier / Mix Located in Foster
More Photos of Forrest
More Photos of ForrestMore Photos of Forrest
Name: Forrest
ID: 146710
Breed: Terrier / Mix
Gender: Male
Age: 2 years 4 months
Size: Large
Location: Foster Home
Forrest Large Male Terrier / Mix Located in Foster
Hi, I'm Forrest, a 22-month-old, tan Terrier mix weighing 48-pounds. I'm told that my scruffy coat and button nose make me a total cutie. I came to the SPCA of Texas on September 20 when I was rescued from a hoarding situation by an Animal Cruelty Investigator. Because of my past I was extremely fearful and didn't do well in the shelter, so I've been living in a foster home since October. At first, I wouldn't leave my crate or interact with my foster mom or the other four dogs. Because my mom was very patient and approached me on my level, I gained a little confidence and started exploring my foster home, taking treats and playing with the other dogs. I can be affectionate, and will lick the back of your hand to get a treat or lean into you for petting when I'm feeling a little itchy, but I still shy away from reaching hands, especially ones that come over the top of my head. I'm working on getting braver, even going on short rides in the car. We tried a couple of times to go for a walk with my canine buddies, but many things would startle me while we were out, so I'm not ready to go for walks or go out in public. Since I get overwhelmed outdoors, I will do best in a home with a secure enclosed yard so I don't have to go somewhere scary every time I need to go potty or want to explore a little. I love to run around the yard with my dog buddies and be a part of the group. I still get quite anxious around strange people, sudden sounds or movements and other unexpected things, but have made a lot of progress. I feel much more comfortable when I have at least one other dog with me because I can see how I am supposed to behave or react, so I will need to go to a home with another dog. Because I am so shy, I will need to be in a home without children under 12, as too much activity stresses me out. In fact, I would prefer no kids if they are noisy or very active. I'm looking for a special family who will be patient with me while I learn how to be a dog, trust people and build confidence. Once I trust you and my new living situation, I will slowly open up and provide you with endless entertainment since I have a quirky personality that comes out once I feel totally comfortable. I just ask that you be very very patient with me and give me the time I need to open up. I'm pretty smart and like to invent my own games like tackle the dog bed, remove the lid from empty soda bottles and play bow at imaginary playmates in addition to chewing on my nylabone. I'm crate trained and love sleeping it when you tell me it's time to go to bed. I'd like to meet all members of the family before you take me home to make sure we all get along. I'm trying so hard to be brave and accept the love I know I deserve. I'll get there, I know it. I have been neutered, microchipped and have received all age-appropriate vaccinations. If you have an adult only home with another dog and a fenced yard, and you are interested in meeting Forrest, please contact